Body contouring surgery

Abdominal flaws are especially distressing to patients. The advent of liposuction has transformed body contouring surgery. It allows the extent of the procedures as well as the residual scars to be reduced. To optimise the procedure, the flaws should be analysed, and in particular various parameters should be taken into account: the condition of the skin, extent of the excess adipose tissue, tone of the abdominal muscles, and overall morphology of the patient. In this way the surgeon will be able to apply the technique best suited, depending on the case to be treated. In fact, there is no universal technique; on the contrary, every case requires its own technique.
However, you should be aware that three procedures will be considered for surgical correction of the abdominal wall: abdominal liposuction (alone), abdominal contouring (abdominoplasty) or a body lift.

Loading

Isolated abdominal liposuction

This solution is indicated only in patients with excellent skin quality.
It can nonetheless be considered as a technique complementary to the two following techniques.

Loading

Abdominal contouring

When there are major skin lesions accompanied by significant distension, numerous stretch marks, or even scars, liposuction alone will not suffice and the surgeon will recommend an abdominoplasty. One or more pregnancies often distend the abdominal wall. The abdominal muscles slacken and separate from the medial line of the abdomen, causing a protuberance of the lower abdomen that liposuction or intensive abdominal exercise will not diminish.
Overweight, like weight fluctuation, distends the skin, which tends to striate and lose its elasticity, leaving an unattractive contour. In both of these cases, adominoplasty is fully indicated.
A patient choosing this procedure should be aware that body rejuvenation is in a way a trade-off between skin that is distended and striated and a flatter abdomen, more uniform skin and a scar, a compromise that the vast majority of patients readily accept.
It sometimes happens that the excess cutaneous fat is circular (it extends all around the body). In this case your surgeon may propose a body lift to guarantee you a higher-quality and more uniform result. This procedure resembles a simple abdominoplasty, except that tissue is excised in a circle and so leaves a circular scar. The advantage of such a method is undoubtedly the total rejuvenation of the abdominal area, with firming of the sides, buttocks, outer thighs and abdomen. The after-effects of a significant weight loss are thus eliminated by this type of procedure.
Of course, if the excess skin below the navel is minimal, a mini-abdominoplasty will suffice.

Loading

Inner thigh lift

When the skin of the inner thighs has slackened, liposuction alone cannot suffice, and this defect can only be remedied by tightening this skin; this is a crural lift or inner thigh lift.
The procedure aims to remove excess skin, reduce the underlying infiltration of fat, and provide comprehensive support for the skin.

Loading

Arm lift

The skin of the inner side of the arm is under great stress in movement and repeated weight loss, which explains why the number of skin ptoses (not correctable by liposuction alone) is greater than that of simple fatty hypertrophies.
The procedure thus aims to remove excess skin, reduce underlying fatty infiltration and re-drape the skin.
This problem does not justify coverage by health insurance, with the exception of the consequences of obesity (bariatric surgery), which can under certain conditions be covered by Health Insurance.

Loading

Silhouette

Les imperfections abdominales sont particulièrement mal vécues par les patients. L’apparition de la lipoaspiration a transformé la chirurgie de la silhouette. EIle permet non seulement de réduire l’importance des interventions mais aussi les cicatrices résiduelles. Pour optimiser l’intervention, il convient d’analyser les lésions et surtout de prendre en compte divers paramètres : état de la peau, importance de la surcharge graisseuse, tonicité des muscles abdominaux, morphologie générale de la patiente ou du patient. Ainsi, le chirurgien conviendra de la meilleure technique à appliquer en fonction du cas à traiter. En effet, il n’existe pas de technique universelle mais bien au contraire, chaque cas requiert une technique particulière.
Sachez toutefois que pour une correction chirurgicale de la paroi abdominale 3 interventions seront envisagées : la lipoaspiration abdominale (isolée), une plastie abdominale (abdominoplastie) ou un body lift.

Loading

La lipoaspiration abdominale isolée

Cette solution n’est indiquée que chez des patients ayant une peau d’excellente qualité.
Néanmoins, elle pourra être envisagée comme technique complémentaire aux deux techniques suivantes.

Loading

Les plasties abdominales

Lorsqu’on observe d’importantes lésions de la peau accompagnées d’une distension notable, de nombreuses vergetures, voire des cicatrices, la lipoaspiration isolée sera insuffisante et le chirurgien préconisera une plastie abdominale. Une ou plusieurs grossesses distendent souvent la paroi abdominale. Les muscles abdominaux se relâchent et se séparent de la ligne médiane de l’abdomen provocant une protubérance du bas-ventre qu’une lipoaspiration ou une musculation intense du ventre ne résorberont pas.
Une surcharge pondérale comme une fluctuation de poids distendent la peau qui a tendance à se strier et perdre son élasticité dessinant une silhouette peu agréable. Dans ces deux cas, l’adominoplastie est tout à fait indiquée.
Attention, le patient choisissant cette intervention doit être conscient que le rajeunissement de la silhouette est en quelques sortes un échange entre une peau distendue, striée contre un ventre plus plat, une peau plus uniforme et une cicatrice. Compromis que la grande majorité des patients accepte aisément.
Il arrive, quelques fois, que l’excès cutanéograisseux soit circulaire ( il s’étend tout autour du corps). Ici, votre chirurgien peut vous proposer un Bodylift pour vous garantir un résultat plus performant et plus homogène. Cette intervention ressemble à une abdominoplastie simple, sauf que l’excision des tissus se fait de façon circulaire et occasionne donc une cicatrice circulaire. L’avantage d’une telle méthode est sans aucun doute le rajeunissement total de la ceinture abdominale avec mise sous tension des flancs, fesses, cuisses latérales et l’abdomen. Les séquelles d’un amaigrissement important sont ainsi gommées lors de ce type d’intervention.
Bien entendu, si l’excès cutané en dessous de l’ombilic est moindre, la mini-abdominoplastie sera suffisante.

Loading

Le Lifting de la face interne des Cuisses

Lorsqu’il existe un relâchement de la peau au niveau de la face interne des cuisses, une lipoaspiration isolée ne peut suffire et seule une remise en tension de cette peau est susceptible de corriger ce défaut: c’est le lifting crural ou lifting de la face interne des cuisses.
L’intervention a alors pour but de réaliser l’ablation de l’excédent de peau, de réduire l’infiltration graisseuse sous-jacente, et de bien suspendre la peau en profondeur.

Loading

Le Lifting des Bras

La peau de la face interne de bras est très “sollicitée” dans les mouvements et les amaigrissements à repetition, ce qui explique que le nombre de ptoses cutanées ( non justiciables d’une lipoaspiraion isolée) est plus grand que les hypertrophies graisseuses simples.
L’interventio a alors pour but de realizer l’ablation de l’excédent de peau, de réduire l’infiltration graisseuse sous-jacente et de redraper l’ensemble.
Ces lesions ne justifient pas une prise en charge par l’Assurance Maladie, à l’exeption des séquelles d’obésité ( chirurgie bariatrique) qui peuvent, sous certaines conditions, être prises en charge par l’Assurance Maladie.

Loading